The First Brain – Some FAQs and a 20 % off Promotion Code from Oxford University Press

Some FAQs about The First Brain:

Q: What is it about?
A: Science, neuroscience and my favorite flatworms, the planarians.

Q: Is it good?
A: I love it! (;-)

Q: Is it too technical?
A: Not at all! The First Brain is a popular science book. I wrote it specifically with the interested layperson in mind. You will not need any scientific training. I do not patronize the reader though; I strongly believe that science is accessible to all who want to understand it and I want its beauty undiluted.

The book is also available in Kindle format and you can download a sample. You can also take a look at the table of contents here. I hope you enjoy it; tell me what you think!

The parts:

TABLE OF CONTENTS

INTRODUCTION
PART I – FUNDAMENTALS
Chapter 1. Science
Chapter 2. Biomedical Research

PART II – THE SCIENCE OF THE BRAIN
Chapter 3. An introduction to the neurosciences
Chapter 4. The human brain
Chapter 5. Some brief thoughts on pharmacology

PART III – PLANARIANS
Chapter 6. Planarians
Chapter 7. Planarians in modern biology
Chapter 8. Planarians in the popular culture: The arts, science fiction, fantasy and humor

PART IV – THE FIRST BRAIN
Chapter 9. The first brain
Chapter 10. From corals and plants to planarians and rats

EPILOGUE

~~~

Oxford University Press sent a promotional code (20%) for the hardcover that I wish to share with you. I do not know for how long is it valid for. Thanks for looking!

Slide1

15 thoughts on “The First Brain – Some FAQs and a 20 % off Promotion Code from Oxford University Press

  1. Pingback: My daily moment of extreme nerdiness: Of Hallucigenia, velvet worms and water bears | Baldscientist

  2. Pingback: Tyson is no Sagan, and neither was an Einstein | Baldscientist

  3. Pingback: A little bit of pharmacology: Dose-response relationships | Baldscientist

  4. Pingback: Angry atheists (or theists) make me a little angry – With a postcript | Baldscientist

  5. Pingback: “Amateur” is not a dirty word, but then again neither is “expert”. | Baldscientist

  6. Pingback: Neuronal man, Neuronal Worm – The tricky business or “titling” a book.. | Baldscientist

  7. Pingback: Nice things people have said about “The First Brain” | Baldscientist

  8. Pingback: A visit to the eye doctor – Cool Pharmacology! | Baldscientist

  9. Pingback: Who am I, exactly? Who are you, exactly? | Baldscientist

  10. Pingback: Society for Neuroscience Meeting 2014 | Baldscientist

  11. Pingback: Random musings – If I could do time travel… | Baldscientist

  12. Pingback: Not quite about religion, maybe about belief | Baldscientist

  13. Pingback: The extraordinary world of flatworms | Baldscientist

  14. Pingback: The First Brain « The Upside Down World

  15. Pingback: 10 factors that helped me write and publish my first book | Baldscientist

Leave a Reply

