About Baldscientist

I am a husband, a father of three and a baldie who also happens to be a pretty good (I hope) University Professor and Researcher. My undergraduate degree is in General Science, my MS is in Biochemistry and my PhD is in Pharmacology, with an emphasis on Neurobiology.

I love science! (do I really need to say it?)

In this blog, I mainly talk about science, especially to non-scientists, but from time to time I explore topics like how is it like to raise a boy with autism, science fiction, education, etc.  I am usually able to give these and other topics a scientific twist.  I frequently blog about my favorite (non-human) types of organisms, the flatworms.

Even though I am very well published in scientific journals, I got the popular science writing bug relatively recently.  My favorite science authors are Carl Sagan, Stephen Jay Gould, Edward O. Wilson, Richard Dawkins (his scientific writings) and of course, Isaac Asimov… I hope you enjoy my posts!

The opinions expressed in this blog are mine alone. They do not represent the views of my employer, my wife, my children, my parents & siblings, my pastor or Chuck Darwin…

~~~
Want to see more of the things I write? Go here for some other posts. By the way, I wrote a book!

tfb-cover1

TFB is available as an ebook (Kindle, Nook, as well as in iTunes). The price of the Kindle version was just reduced by Amazon… (:-)

The hardcover is available at Amazon and at the Oxford University Press’ website.  There’s even a 20% discount code from OUP.

This is a popular science book, which I hope to be enjoyed by laypeople and biologists alike.

I also wrote a science fiction story with an autism theme. I published it in two languages, check them out!

image

Shoot me a message if you have any questions…

You can subscribe to my blog! Just go to the “Home” page, right hand side.

Twitter: @Baldscientist

For my Amazon author page, click here.

If you feel like it, you may “Like” Baldscientist on Facebook!

20140608-003654.jpg

55 thoughts on “About Baldscientist

  1. Pingback: The Scientist and the Angry Atheists | Baldscientist

  2. Pingback: Angry atheists (or theists) make me a little angry – With a postcript | Baldscientist

  3. Pingback: A matter of perspective – some updating | Baldscientist

  4. Pingback: Para mis seguidores Hispanoparlantes… Entrevista en Espaňol | Baldscientist

  5. Pingback: Brief reflections at the end of the academic year | Baldscientist

  6. Pingback: “The voice of the heart” – Autism and Science Fiction | Baldscientist

  7. Pingback: A break in the clouds of autism | Baldscientist

  8. Pingback: The lonely bricklayer – A scientific allegory | Baldscientist

  9. Pingback: My Amazon’s Author Page | Baldscientist

  10. Pingback: My new ebook! – Popular Science Writing | Baldscientist

  11. Pingback: An oldie but a goodie – Cylons and Planarians | Baldscientist

  12. Pingback: Coming Soon… | Baldscientist

  13. Pingback: My mysterious fellow Whovian “attacks” again! | Baldscientist

  14. Pingback: The Voice of the Heart – Reduced to $0.99; here is the first chapter for free. And, do not gorget the giveaway! | Baldscientist

  15. Pingback: The kind of science writer that I aspire to be… | Baldscientist

  16. Pingback: The Voice of the Heart – A Science Fiction and Autism Story: Read the first “chapter” for free right here! | Baldscientist

  17. Pingback: My Evil Red Pen & Why I don’t Like the Concept of Extra Credit | Baldscientist

  18. Pingback: Memory research using planarians | Baldscientist

  19. Pingback: Flatworm Memes | Baldscientist

  20. Pingback: An Epiphany | Baldscientist

  21. Pingback: A promise | Baldscientist

  22. Pingback: Late night thoughts: Why do I write? | Baldscientist

  23. Pingback: A curious defense mechanism of some scorpions | Baldscientist

  24. Pingback: Whining to God | Baldscientist

  25. Pingback: The Klingon Shrew | Baldscientist

  26. Pingback: Silly wormies … | Baldscientist

  27. Pingback: Some biological mysteries that really baffle me | Baldscientist

  28. Pingback: The very best text message I have ever received | Baldscientist

  29. Pingback: Mental Floss Magazine – Web Article! | Baldscientist

  30. Pingback: Nice things people have said about “The First Brain” – Updated | Baldscientist

  31. Pingback: HAPPY DARWIN DAY! | Baldscientist

  32. Pingback: “The First Brain: The Neuroscience of Planarians” – Table of Contents | Baldscientist

  33. Pingback: Of The Walking Dead, Cosmos, and Planaria | Baldscientist

  34. Pingback: Some of the responsibilities of a science writer – Part II | Baldscientist

  35. Pingback: Some of the responsibilities of a science writer – Part I | Baldscientist

  36. Pingback: Random Musings: Autism and Spirituality – “Almost normal” | Baldscientist

  37. Pingback: Random musings: Autism and Spirituality – “Almost normal” | Baldscientist

  38. Pingback: From light to light | Baldscientist

  39. Pingback: The Sagan Effect | Baldscientist

  40. Pingback: The Paganization procedure | Baldscientist

  41. Pingback: A good laugh | Baldscientist

  42. Pingback: Would you please share, reblog, recommend, etc., my blog to others? Thank you! | Baldscientist

  43. Pingback: What are you curious about? | Baldscientist

  44. Pingback: A little bit of pharmacology: Dose-response relationships | Baldscientist

  45. Pingback: A visit to the eye doctor – Cool Pharmacology! | Baldscientist

  46. Pingback: Planarians on nicotine | Baldscientist

  47. Pingback: Our first publication of 2015! Nicotine, Curare, and Planarians, oh my… | Baldscientist

  48. Pingback: Respect the Theory, do not fear the facts | Baldscientist

  49. Pingback: In praise of invertebrate brains | Baldscientist

  50. Pingback: Academic scientist or Science Communicator? | Baldscientist

  51. Pingback: “Amateur” is not a dirty word, but then again neither is “expert”. | Baldscientist

  52. Pingback: The Baldscientist’s blog up to 2014… Thank you, one and all! | Baldscientist

  53. Pingback: Some reflections on my 50th birthday | Baldscientist

  54. Pingback: 2014 in review – Baldscientist’s Blog | Baldscientist

  55. Pingback: We are all mutants | Baldscientist

Leave a Reply

