Book giveaway: A signed hard copy of The First Brain . . . (:-)

April 17 is a very special day for me. This is the B-day of two very important people in my life: The young man who made me a proud uncle, was born in this date almost 28 years ago. Also, my sis-in-law from my wife’s side, was also born in April 17, in the year none-of-your-******* business!

Coincidentally, April 17 is the official “birthday” of the entity that made me a published (book) author; my book,  The First Brain: The Neuroscience of Planarians (TFB).

20140320-115807.jpg

In celebration, I have decided to give away a signed copy of TFB to one lucky winner!

In addition to doing this as a celebration, a second reason for the giveaway is to humbly contribute to the education of my community, near and far; this is part of my mission as an academic. My third reason is to try to spread the word about my work and gain more audience; you see, I want to write more popular science! In fact, there are several surprises coming soon!

How’s the above paragraph for full disclosure?

Here’s how this is going to happen:

**You have ABSOLUTELY NOTHING to buy**

**I will choose the winner. My decision will be final and not subject to appeal.

**You have my promise that I will not choose a relative as the winner. It is only fair.

**I will send the signed book at my expense anywhere in the world except for places where I may be forbidden to send it by law.

How will I choose the winner:

**You must write a comment in this post saying something is the lines of “I am interested on reading TFB because…”. The deadline for doing so is April 16, 2015 at 11:59 pm US EST. I will read the comments and the one that I like the most, wins.

**I reserve the right, if I like two answers equally, to give away a second signed copy. I also reserve the right not to like any of the reasons…

**Once the winner(s) is (are) chosen, I will reply to the comment and ask the winner to send me a private email to orpagan@yahoo.com with a mailing address. I promise that I will keep it private. If I do not receive any answer within 2 days, I will choose another winner.

I would appreciate it if you:

1) Subscribe to my blog OR “Like” my Facebook page OR follow me on Twitter OR ideally, all of the above.

2) Allow me to post your comment and a picture of you with my book, in this blog; I will identify you only by first name and the initial of your last name (i.e., Vanessa P.) and your country/state of origin.

3) Spread the word about the Baldscientist’s Blog.

4) Once you read TFB, post an honest review (warts and all; I want to know what I can do better) at amazon.com.

None of the above is a requirement to win, but I’d be very happy if you’d do them…

OK… Let’s play… On your marks… Get set… GO!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Want to see what my blog is about? Go here for some other posts.

You can also subscribe to my blog! Just go to the “Home” page, right hand side.

I am an author! Please check out my Amazon’s page

Comment here or send me a message if you have any questions! My email is: orpagan@yahoo.com.

For my Facebook page click here.

My Twitter name is @Baldscientist

Categories:

9 Comments

  1. Wow, wonderful weblog structure! How lengthy have
    youu ever been running a blog for? you make running a blog glance easy.

    The entire glance off your web site is fantastic, as neatly as the content!

  2. Ok, I’ll try my luck too…
    I’m interested in reading about the First Brain, because I have a very high opinion of mine, and would love to be learn more of how the brain in general came into being, and how it evolved into something as advanced as a human brain. 🙂

  3. I am interested on reading “The First Brain: The Neuroscience of Planarians” because planarians are great and unique organisms, that look so simple and so tiny but also they can play key roles as a model system in biological and biomedical research in this case neuroscience, which I think is such an interesting subject.

    I’m so excited about this book because it reflects the passion and love of a scientist about what he is doing, and how to make complex words sound easy to spread the word among the community to create interest in this subject.

  4. I am interested in this book because it combines a couple of interests. Planarians have fascinated me since junior high school, many years ago. I am also personally and professionally interested in the development of the brain. As a special education teacher on the high school level, I help students with disabilities to understand and appreciate science. A signed copy of the book will id in showing my students that scientists are people too. Finally, the science department in my small high school shares my appreciation for planarians. Coincidentally, there are planarians living in the refrigerator in the science wing even as we speak. My colleagues are excited about the book as well. I always enjoy your comments in CCNS.

  5. I am interested in this book because I teach evolution and am interested in the development of the brain from simple to more complex organisms. I also love to add new examples of evolution to my lectures and your book will surely be there.

Leave a Reply

